Substrate question

AquaIce

Location (City and/or State)
Dunlap, IN
Ok so, I am new to all of this and have only had rabbits, sugar gliders and tarantulas as exotics so bare with me. We have a baby redfoot. I got Zoo Med Eco Earth Loose Coconut Fiber Substrate for my baby read foot (that's what we use for our tarantulas) and he likes it more then the bark chips because he LOVES to dig and hide in it. I have been seeing people talk about orchid bark or coco coir which I have never seen around here or heard of. Is the eco earth going to be ok? Also having issues with humidity but were grabbing some this weekend. He is in my profile picture if you would like to see him. I will post more picture later I am at work and don't have any on here. Its also a 20 gallon tank with a screened lid with a 10.0 florescent UVB, ceramic 60w heat and a 100W regular bulb which helps a lot with keeping the heat where I need it to be. He has a Med size water bowl he can get into if needed located close to the heat to help with humidity. I have been soaking him 20 min nightly just to make sure he doesn't get to dehydrated since I am having humidity issues. He eats very well. When we soak him he does drink.

Thanks for any ideas or help :):<3::tort:

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Eco Earth = Coco coir.

What type of florescent UV bulb? The cfl type or the long tube type?

The key to holding in heat and humidity is to use a closed chamber. Open topped enclosures allow all your heat and humidity to escape up and into the drier cooler room air, and force you to use a lot more desiccating electric heat to maintain warm temps.

I think a 20 gallon is too small. I prefer to start babies in a minimum of 40 gallons, but typically 100 gallon sized tanks. A closed chamber with around 2x4' of floor space works great. You can buy one or build your own.

AquaIce

Dunlap, IN
Eco Earth = Coco coir.