Sulcata Hatchling Help

Kellymay528

I'm new to this so I'm not sure if I'm starting a conversation in the right place...
I just got a sulcata hatchling for Christmas. I've done tons of research and talked to different people. The little guy was shipped but seems healthy. I have a couple of questions. When I recieved him the bottom of his shell was a little soft almost like the top of a tubaware bin when you poke it. Is this because he's a hatchling? I have the correct lights, enclosure, etc. Another question.. I started trying to feed orchard grass, wheat grass, minimal collards because the tortoise was a surprise so collards were all I had for two days. Now he's stuck on these collards that's all he wants and I know they can't have a lot of it. Any suggestions on what to do? Please don't attack me! I just want to learn and get some opinions.

Jodie

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Spokane Valley WA
Cut the collards and other stuff very small. Slowly use less and less collrd in the mix. I have found this is the easiest way to get them to eat new foods. Supplement calcium 2X a week. Just sprinkle a small amout on his food. If he is not able to get outside right now you could use calcium with d3 once a week as well.
Welcome to the forum.

Kellymay528

Cut the collards and other stuff very small. Slowly use less and less collrd in the mix. I have found this is the easiest way to get them to eat new foods. Supplement calcium 2X a week. Just sprinkle a small amout on his food. If he is not able to get outside right now you could use calcium with d3 once a week as well.
Welcome to the forum.

Thank you.. I live in Maryland so it's impossible ):
I have been using some d3. Thanks for the input.

Kellymay528

Kellymay528

cmacusa3

5 Year Member
Bixby
You need to read the care sheets and really listen to @Tom

Maro2Bear

5 Year Member
Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA