Summarizing my substrate option

beginner

Hi Newbie here.

Went to a pet shop under child pressure bought Russians ,aptly named Ken & Barbie.

Smell of the substrate advised by store is horrible. Wife threatening to through them out.

So planning to go for Top Soil. I have gone through a lot of threads in this forum and others over the internet. So here is what I am thinking of doing:

1. Use the liner at the bottom save my wooden structure.
2. fill with Top Soil about 2 inches (non fertilized & Organic).
3. Somehow get the suitable microorganisms in the Viv. (Help which ones).
4. moisture monitoring.

Some basic info:
2 * 6 months old hatchlings.
36*18*18 inch Viv
0 experience of tortoises.

Now few questions, If I may please:
1. will i need to replace top soil? if yes, how often?
2. Which insects/ worms to buy, will prefer non-wiggles?

Thank you all in advance.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi "Beginner":

Welcome to the Forum!!

You can use clean top soil if that's what you want. You can then put down some small pieces of fir bark around the waterer and the feeder to keep the tortoises from tracking dirt into the food and water.

Make sure you have the habitat warm. Babies should be kept at about 80F degrees.

If you spot clean you won't need to change out the substrate. Just mix it up with your hand when you add water.

I wouldn't worry about purchasing any bugs. Top soil usually comes with enough bugs on its own, and it seems like bug eggs probably come in with the food too, because they eventually, magically appear.

We have a nice care sheet for baby Russian tortoises at the top of the Russian section in the "Important Threads."

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Here is that care sheet that Yvonne mentioned: http://www.tortoiseforum.org/thread-80698.html