Surgery for Bladder Stone

fiber

Hi,

Please need info about how the chance of successful operation of bladder stone for sulcata. Today we took our Sulcata, named Dexter, she is 40 cm with 20 kg, to the vet for x-ray, and the result is there bladder stone and need to do surgery, so tomorrow will do the surgery if Dex is getting better ( cos today Dex looked weak, don't want to eat, and water keep coming from her nose, that's why we took her to the vet and found out)
We're so worried if the surgery don't go well...
And if it goes well, anyone knows how take care the sulcata after surgery?
Thank's a lot (really need any advise)

Meganolvt

Location (City and/or State)
Michigan
I'm interested to know how the surgery goes, please give us an update after. My yellowfoot also has bladder stones and may some day need surgery. I am a vet tech but in my 14 years I have never had a tortoise bladder surgery patient or even seen the surgery. I do know that post-op care is for a long time, they take forever to heal. Here is a picture of my tort and his lovely bladder stones.2015-12-18 19.18.02.png

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
You and your tortoise are very lucky that you discovered the bladder stone and your vet knows how to do the surgery. Quite a few tortoises just wither away and die because they have an undiagnosed stone. I'm still of the mind that Meganolvt's tortoise has eaten little rocks, and it is NOT a bladder stone and I'd be willing to bet if you compared your tortoise's x-ray with the one above you'll see quite a difference. A bladder stone is one large stone, not a bunch of little rocks.

Your vet will give you the post op advice you need. Just baby him and make sure he stays hydrated. (the tortoise, not the vet)

Last edited:

deadheadvet

10 Year Member!
Cary, NC