Thinking about a russian tort

Vaygapawz

Hi all, I'm new to the forums and I'm thinking about getting a russian tortoise. I have some reptile experience, owning a ball python and 3 whites tree frogs. I'm open to other tortoises as well, but what I'm looking for is an interactive, small tort that can stay in a 2x4 enclosure. I would love to go bigger, but I unfortunately don't have the space. I would like to interact with my tortoise, but I'm not quite sure how. I know I can feed, bathe, and take my little guy outside, but can I simply sit on the couch and watch tv with a tort? Do tortoises like getting out of their enclosure? My other option for the next addition to my home is a bearded dragon. I love their personality, but for the past few years I've always wanted a tortoise.

leigti

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
southeast Washington
A tortoise needs much more room than that. Especially a Russian tortoise. 2 x 4 would only work for a hatchling. I don't know anything about bearded dragons but they might work better in a small enclosure.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome to the forum.

Sorry to inform you that there is no tortoise species that can live in a 2x4 enclosure. Its just too small and tortoises need room to roam and move about.

Outside time is great in a proper enclosure, but you would still need something bigger inside.

There are lots of awesome reptiles that could do just fine in a tank that size though. A single beardie or a Blue Tongue Skink would do just fine in something that size.

mike taylor

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club