three Herman's sex id's, please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tccarolina

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
CA
I just received three Hermann's tortoises that were labeled as captive bred in Europe. They are supposed to be 1 male and 2 females.
I'm not sure what I have. Number 2 looks definitely female number 3 looks probably female, and if one is a male, I would have to guess it must be number 1.
#1 4 1/8"
IMG_0548.jpg

IMG_0549.jpg

#2 4"
IMG_0550.jpg

IMG_0551.jpg

#3 4 1/4"
IMG_0552.jpg

IMG_0553.jpg

Ozric

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Hi, sorry I'm not good at sexing them. EgyptianDanny or HermanniChris are the people you want to sex these Hermanns - they do look in here often and I'm sure they will sex them for you.

These tortoises look to have incredibly smooth growth for captive bred animals. Its not easy to achieve this.

They are lovely!!

egyptiandan

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
USA
A little deja vu here :p
They are all female Steve and here goes with the subspecies
#1 T.h.boettgeri
#2 T.h.hercegovinensis
#3 T.h.boettgeri

Danny

Tccarolina

10 Year Member!
CA
Danny, thanks for the reply!
Ozric,
I'm not convinced they are captive-bred. They seem to have too perfect of growth, and look pretty old to profitably farm-raise. On the otherhand, they do seem to all be the same age. They look like they are all in their 8th year.
#1 is showing some fresh growth, so she might be in her 7th year.
But, on the other hand, I just noticed the last three rings of growth are all large for all three, almost equally large. They look like they have lived in the same conditions the last three years, which would fit if they've been raised together for 3 years. If they were wild-caught, they should have different growth rates, unless they were collected together in the same area. One is a different subspecies, so that is unlikely.

I don't know. They are nice animals though, aren't they!
Steve

Whoops,