Timed A Flipped Tort

Status
Not open for further replies.

kit-e-kat

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Gardena, Ca.
I just happen to see my tort flip over. I decided to tough it out and see how long it took to right himself. To my suprise, it took less than 10 sec. on flat ground. Lucky?
John

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
No they are actually quite good at it IMHO, you do get the one every so often or so who is not, but I have seen quite a few flip over by themselves.

kit-e-kat

5 Year Member
Gardena, Ca.
dmmj said:
No they are actually quite good at it IMHO, you do get the one every so often or so who is not, but I have seen quite a few flip over by themselves.

Thanks for your observation. Like a new parent, I'm still learning

Stephanie Logan

10 Year Member!
Colorado
The post below occurred last summer when I was still stumbling into tortoise keeping.

I was SO relieved that Taco righted herself, but it only makes me worry a little less.

Longtime keepers on this forum have said that:
a) it helps to have slopes in your enclosure and objects in the pen about one shell length away from the wall so they have something to wedge themselves against if they get overturned;
b) some tortoises seem to have better innate ability to right themselves than others, who just pull in their legs and head and wait for the inevitable;
c) set up your enclosure so the tortoise has few or no danger spots to overturn--for example, block off corners so they don't try to climb out and fall over backward.

All good advice, as I am sure you would agree! :p