Toothbrush for shell cleaning?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DonaTello's-Mom

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
California, central coast
I read on the web you should use a Toothbrush for shell cleaning, a soft one. Is this true? What if anything should you clean their shells with? What I've been doing is checking his shell after I soak him. (not that I know what I'm looking for). I haven't used a toothbrush on him yet. Please remember I'm a newbie keeper. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

harris

10 Year Member!
Ohio
Same here. Warm water, soft toothbrush, no chemicals. And don't push down on the brush too hard.

sulcata

5 Year Member
i use toddlers toothbrush and worm water every time i soak them :p

bikerchicspain

5 Year Member
spain
I also use baby teeth toothbrush on mine in small smooth circular motions, then dry and a drop of olive oil just to give a nice shiny look and to nurish the shell, Mini loves it.:D

Kymiie

5 Year Member
Nottinghamshire, UK
Biker Chic Spain:

Are we ok to use olive oil on a tortoise shell just to make it look shiny?
Ir will it fry the shell under the heated lamp?

xx

tortoisenerd

5 Year Member
Washington
Please never put anything on a tort's shell except water and maybe any prescribed meds for shell conditions (only after consulting an experienced vet). It isn't natural and can cause harm.

gyang333

5 Year Member
I have a toothbrush that I run over my turtle's shell once in awhile.

bikerchicspain

5 Year Member
spain
It doesnt fry them as only a small amount is used on a tissue then dried of with another it does not harm the Tort or the shell it is a natural ingriedient and torts will eat olives especially the Testudo gaeca thats natural in Lorca where olive trees grow.

chadk

10 Year Member!