tortoise dug long tunnel

maryalmeida81

Hi all I'm new to this, it's been 2 days since I've joined,I have a 8 yr old Sulcata, we'll since we started with the rain and

Sent from my iPhone using Tortoise Forum

maryalmeida81

Oops that got away anyways when the rains started he went into hiding and went into his burrow we put my cell phone down into the burrow but couldn't see anything , but he was eating and eating he's been down there almost 3 weeks , no sign of him what should I do ? Has anyone been thru this with their sulcatas ?? Thx Mary from Phx,Az

maryalmeida81

A lot of people said he's in hibernation, but I'm not sure what to think I just hope he comes out when he's supposed to , heck I don't even know when they come out lol it's his first year ever outside :( so we both are not sure what to expect !! Thanks I'm going to keep looking down his burrow with my video on a stick .. :) thanks for getting back at me .. Mary & Shelby

maryalmeida81

so now I'm here with a migraine headache so if it's not hibernation what do they call it ? And do they just sleep for a few months , I'm sorry I know it's late but hopefully somebody knows what I should do ?? Thank you soooo much .

RV's mom

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Phoenix, arizona
mary ~ are you sure he's not coming up when you're not in the yard? RV would stay down her burrow in the heat of the day, coming up only for grazing in the evening to morning... She'd stay down for longer periods when the weather was cold. I was terrified .. coaxed her topside with judicious use of a hair dryer to simulate a warm day... I wouldn't try it right now, with as hot as it is here. If you are absolutely sure he isn't coming topside, you may have to go down after him.... Sulcatas DO NOT HIBERNATE.

good luck

teri

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California