Unacceptable dog breed list

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fernando

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Hello everyone!

Most of you probably don't know this but I'm an Insurance agent for a major insurance carrier here in California and we have an "unacceptable dog breed list" or black list that we have to follow in order for us to insure prospective clients.

Here is is:

Akita
Chow Chow
Doberman Pinscher
Huskey (Eskimo dog)
Presa Canario
Rottweiler
Staffordshire Terrier (Pit bull)
Staffordshire bull terrier
Wolf hybrid
Bull Terrier (including miniature)
German shepherd

*some of our carriers will exclude a bull mastiff*

Would you agree with this list? Have you had personal experience or have heard of stories about a specific breed? Would there be a breed that you would include in this list?

I'd love to know your thoughts on this...

Fernando

10 Year Member!
Southern California
jeffbens0n said:
What kind of insurance are we talking about?

I sell Homeowners Insurance, Renters Insurance, Rental Insurance, Umbrella Insurance.

Laura said:
Chihuahuas bite more people, but the damage isnt as bad..

Yeah, I'm a witness to that...but the media doesnt care unless it's bad so the Insurance company wouldn't bother taking them into account.

CtTortoiseMom

5 Year Member
CT
I have an Insurance backround too:D. I was a Commercial Insurance Agent. I specialized in Large Construction. I was a Certified Workers Comp. Advisor as well. It has been my experience that you can buy out most clauses. I am pretty sure we did this with our home owners insurance when we wanted a trampoline.

Unfortunately a few dog owners that allowed specific breeds to destroy property have ruined it for the gen. Pop.

Fernando

10 Year Member!
Southern California
CtTortoiseMom said: