Unwell horsefield

Paulinehall1

Hi I am new to this lost my Herman of 30 years may last year hubby bought me a baby horsefield took to vets yesturday and told she has soft shell told she needs more calcium given some in dropper tube but won't open mouth and isn't eating either changed her lighting to uv Arcadia all in one instead of strip light and separate bask on sun will she perk up very worried

lismar79

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Ohio USA
Warm soaks with squash or carrot baby food in the water will help get something in him. 15 to 20 mins keeping the water from getting cool.

Paulinehall1

Temp is 32 under lamp don't no about humidity she is in a3ftx212ft open tortoise table not really moving at all unless picked up

Paulinehall1

This is the photo of her tortoise table and lights, and as you can see she's very small.

image.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Gillian M

5 Year Member
Jordan
Welcome to the :tort: forum!

Regret to have read that alert about yout tort. Please take note of something: torts do not :mad:like:

a) cold weather/Winter
b) change in environment

Now if your tort is new to the place, it'll take time for it to adapt, and you need to be extremely patient.

Good luck.

Paulinehall1

Welcome to the :tort: forum!

Regret to have read that alert about yout tort. Please take note of something: torts do not :mad:like:

a) cold weather/Winter
b) change in environment

Now if your tort is new to the place, it'll take time for it to adapt, and you need to be extremely patient.

Good luck.

Not new just new lighting system just managed to get 1ml of calcium liquid from the vet in to her mouth.

Last edited by a moderator:

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome.

I'm trying to decipher what all you were asking in that first post...

What sort of bulbs are in those two hoods?