Vivarium or tortoise table?

Lealea13

Hi all I am new to this. Had mixed reviews so wondering what's best a vivarium or tortoise table for my new Hermann tortoise?

tortdad

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
NW Houston TX
I would check out the Hermann section and see what others with your species use.

I have Redfoot and box turtles and use closed chamber for both. My Sulcata lives outside with a heated night box but I'm no help with your species.

Have you checked out Chris' website. Www.gardenstatetortoise.com

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
What size and age? Vivariums are much better for younger smaller ones that have a lot of growing to do. They need some humidity, which is very difficult to provide in an open topped enclosure with cold dry room air circulating about. Vivariums are a much more stable and controlled environment which is much better for babies.

Please read these:
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/sticky-hermanns-tortoise-care-sheet-updated.101410/
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/thread...or-other-herbivorous-tortoise-species.107734/
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/

This one is written for Russians, but care is very similar and there are some helpful tidbits in there for you.
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/russian-tortoise-care-sheet.80698/

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
That's not a hermanni. That is a Russian, or Testudo horsfieldii.

You need a large vivarium and the above linked threads will help you understand diet and housing better.

What is happening in that picture is extremely dangerous. Sand substrates should never be used, and the tortoise should never be fed on a sand substrate. They need to eat out of a dish or off of a plate to minimize substrate ingestion. They should also not be fed fruit.

Looks like you have received some bad advice previously.

Lealea13