Walking Oli After Sunset.

Gillian M

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Jordan
Hi. As some of you know, whenever the weather permits I take Oli out for so-called "walks"-that is of course if it's not too hot/cold. Nowadays it is extremely hot with temperatures reaching 36-40 degrees Celcius; during the day, with that striking and dangerous sun.

I am thinking of taking Oli :<3: for walks after sunset, when temperature drops to about 22 degrees Celcius. ;) My question is: would he enjoy it? is it right to take a tort for a "walk" at night?

Your help and advise would be highly appreciated.

Thank you.;)

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
I have no experience with waking a tortoise. However, I wouldn't think it would be a problem as long as he's not settled in for the night. My one leopard likes doing a lot of his roaming when the sun is going down and it's not so hot. Usually during the hottest part of the day they would not be walking around, but seeking cooler places anyway.

Jodie

5 Year Member
Spokane Valley WA
I agree, try it. If he is active and awake, no harm. He is not going to get UVB after sunset, but fresh air, exercise and fresh food.

Gillian M

5 Year Member
Jordan
I have no experience with waking a tortoise. However, I wouldn't think it would be a problem as long as he's not settled in for the night. My one leopard likes doing a lot of his roaming when the sun is going down and it's not so hot. Usually during the hottest part of the day they would not be walking around, but seeking cooler places anyway.
Thanks your reply. ;)

That's the case with Oli: it gets so HOT here that he becomes restless. :(

Gillian M

5 Year Member
Jordan
I agree, try it. If he is active and awake, no harm. He is not going to get UVB after sunset, but fresh air, exercise and fresh food.
Thanks a lot your help @Jodie. :)