What is willie ?

Willie79

Location (City and/or State)
Chelmsford
Hello, I’ve just been given a tortoise , I was told he was a Herman , I don’t believe he is. I’m a newbie and would like advice please ? He’s 14 , he’s lives in a viv , never hibernated etc and lived on kale. Now this little boys here, he needs spoiling so any help please much appreciated my new baby is going to have a great life from here on in !

Attachments

• IMG_0272.jpeg
    IMG_0272.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 3

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
He needs a minimum of a 4x8 enclosure.
Basking bulb should be an incandescent flood bulb, Amazon has them, at least 65 watt.
A tube florescent uvb bulb
And possibly a ceramic heat emitter for added day heat and night heat if needed
Day temp should range from 75-80
Basking temp 95-100
Night temp 60's. 70 if he does not brumate for winter
Humidity 30-50%
Fine grade orchid bark for substrate
Clay saucer he can fit in for water.
Hide for sleeping.
Diet must consist of a whole lot more than just kale
Broad leafy weeds if possible this time of year, spring mix, cactus pads, ridicchio, mustard greens, romaine, dandelions, just to name a few.
Read the caresheet under the Mediterranean section

SinLA

Tortoise Club
Los Angeles
Congrats on your Horsefield Tortoise (called a Russian Tortiose in the US). Here is a great place to start:

zolasmum

5 Year Member
Hello, I’ve just been given a tortoise , I was told he was a Herman , I don’t believe he is. I’m a newbie and would like advice please ? He’s 14 , he’s lives in a viv , never hibernated etc and lived on kale. Now this little boys here, he needs spoiling so any help please much appreciated my new baby is going to have a great life from here on in !