Worried about bump / dent at front of shell

CylonSurfer

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum, from what I have read thus far it's a great source of knowledge. I'm also the owner of a juvenile Marginated Tortoise we have called Samson. I have never kept a tortoise before so I'm new to it all (although I did have a Red eared slider turtle for about 21 years).

Samson for the most part seems to be doing fine, he is fairly active during the day, eats most of what we put out for him and gets a bath every evening which he seems to enjoy. Judging from his cert Samson is about 7 months old. My only concern about him is that part of his shell seems to have a slight bump in the lighter colored part and indent in the darker part of the front central plate (not the smaller marginals). I have included a picture but the problem might not be easy to spot, I can get a better picture when I'm at home.

Is this something I should be concerned about or is it just normal for a juvenile and something that will grow out?

One last thing, when I last measured / weighed Samson he came out at 50mm in length and 27 grams - is this about right for a juvenile of his age? I have struggled to find much info on monitoring the growth of marginated juveniles...

Cheers all.

Samson.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

HLogic

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Florida, USA
Please read the following link and make adjustments to the enclosure/habitat accordingly: http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/marginated-tortoise-testudo-marginata-care-sheet.98564/

I don't see anything "wrong" with the tort but I note a few conditions under which it is being kept I would change.