ZigZag Vertebral Scutes

Redfool

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Central Florida
New hatchling RF with zigzag scutes. Seven vertebral instead of normal five. Other five in same clutch of six, normal. Any ideas on cause?
IMG_3145.jpg
IMG_3146.jpg
IMG_3142.jpg

daniellenc

Maryland
No clue but I dig it!! Are you going to keep him and see how he developes as an adult?

daniellenc

Maryland
If my AP cage were already here I’d totally take him and name him oddball! Alas 3-6 month wait

Redfool

5 Year Member
Central Florida
Do you rinse the eggs when you dig them up before putting them into the incubator?

Just enough to knock off loose dirt. I try to leave the slime layer on. They get nested on Spanish moss. This is the first non-typical scute RF hatchling in many many years. Others in same clutch normal.

Otis1288

Ohio
I have a female(?) cherry head that has extra scutes. Some one here on the forums had said it may be caused by higher incubation temps. I’m no expert though lol

Attachments

• C0458611-84BB-4052-8AB5-92BC65F05872.jpeg
    C0458611-84BB-4052-8AB5-92BC65F05872.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 47

Markw84

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Sacramento, CA (Central Valley)
Just enough to knock off loose dirt. I try to leave the slime layer on. They get nested on Spanish moss. This is the first non-typical scute RF hatchling in many many years. Others in same clutch normal.