baby testudo hermanni question

Status
Not open for further replies.

gavakas

5 Year Member
Firstly i'll say a hi to everyone in the forum!
I would appreciate your help becaude i'm totally new to tortoises.
I want to say that i read everything i could on the net about my question but i cant find an answer..
I live in a small island in greece and yesterday i found on the local petshop a baby testudo hermanni. It was so cute so, i bought it!! The problem is that it is a baby and hibernating. The pet shop owner told me that if i put it in my room with all the heat and uva-b that he will come out of hibernation. But he doesnt to come out.. what should i do to wake him up? he is about 3-4cm long. My concern is that the eyes are a little sucked in.. Willl he wake up or have i made a mistake buying him?
IF anyone can help i would be very gratefull. Thankyou in advance.

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
A Land Far Away...
First off, he is alive right? He does pull in his legs or move them, when stimulated correct? (I have learned to start with the very basic things and move from there) Have you given him any warm soaks?

I am sorry to say, yes I think you made a mistake in buying him. :( If the store was hibernating/burmating him, he would not have been out in public display. When you buy a tortoise you want to get a healthy, active bright eyed one whom you actually saw eating. Sunken eyes normally mean dehydration, an animal dead or on the way to being dead. :(

Terry Allan Hall

5 Year Member
The Republic O' Tejas
Sucken eyes are not good...give him/her a warm (body temperature) soak immediately, and every day for the next week. Might put some liquified carrot baby food in the soak water, as it'll drink and food value gets into it that way.