Beak too long?

katfinlou

5 Year Member
Hi, does anyone think my Hermanns 'beak' (not sure what it's called) is too long or does it look normal? And if it is too long do I need a vet to clip it? ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1416428162.882150.jpg

phebe121

It looksa little to long i have leopards how big is he i just used toe nail clippers for mine just try and make it even with the side of his mouth maybe a little lower and clip it then file the area you clipped to make sure theres no sharp edges

katfinlou

5 Year Member
Shes 5 years old so ive been told. How do you measure how big they are?

phebe121

Put a ruler or tape measure agenst the wall and put your torts head agenst the wall and at there but us how long they are

katfinlou

5 Year Member
So can a vet trim her down? Im not experienced with this at all and would be too scared to hurt her if I did it myself

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
A Land Far Away...
Yes, a vet can trim them. They normally use a dremmel grinder on them. Once you have saw the vet do it, most likely you will be able to do it also. Be sure to be doing what you can to naturally keep the beak from getting too long. Things like feeding on a flat rock, plain terra cotta plant saucer, or a tile. Do not cut up the food, let him tear it himself. Feed all of the leaf, not just the nice soft leafy part (stems and ribs are good for beaks). Feed things like weeds and leaves, which don't get all the water and tender care, so they grow tougher.

phebe121

Yes you could call your vet and they could do it trust me its scary at first its there face

phebe121