Can you help us identify this tortoise

EchoFrost

Location (City and/or State)
Idaho
I'm a tortoise noob but I think it's a Russian too. She's absolutely adorable!! The only Russians I've interacted with have all been picky eaters. Good luck getting her on varied foods!

ISU

South Korea
Check out thetortoisetable.org.uk for edible plants

My leopard is a picky eater, so I'm trying to feed her a lot of things

Last edited:

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Thank you. She’s barely 2 years old I believe. Trying to find foods she likes but it’s been tough.
Here is the care and feeding info:

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
She IS a Russian. He/she needs at least a 4x8 foot enclosure. 2 years questionable. However it was started wrong in its early years. Russians are harder to pyramid then most others and yours has already started.
Read the links Tom posted and follow them.

TaylorTortoise

Abington
ABSOLUTELY ADORABLE!!
I have a Russian. You can tell what sex it is by the tale. If your Russian has a small short tail it's usually a female. Males have longer tails like dogs! AND they wag. lol

My guy looks similar in age to yours. I'm not sure how old mine is since I did get mine from a local pet store being an inexperienced tortoise owner and not knowing there were actual good reputable breeders out there. (I know for the future)

Your tort is going to need a basking spot and UVB which you can get at any local pet store.
My russian LOVES Santa Barbra mix. I get it at produce junction if you have one near you.
Any type of spring mix is good as well.
Make sure you are switching it up and adding fiber and vitamins as well to his/her diet.

Substrate coco cor, repti bark, any type of substrate from a pet store works that allows for humidity (Look for)

I sprits my guys food for extra hydration with a spritzer and sometimes on his shell if I don't feel like he is drinking from his water bowl.