Desert Box Turtles

Neal

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Arizona
I took some time off this week just to hang out at home and get some miscellaneous chores done.

Cleaned out the Desert Box Turtle pen and turned over dirt in preparation for hibernation time. They seemed to be appreciative and anxious to explore their cleaned home.

IMG_0759.JPG

IMG_0761.JPG

IMG_0763.JPG

IMG_0766.JPG

IMG_0782.JPG

KevinGG

5 Year Member
Santa Cruz, CA
Nice. I've always been close to getting some of these. If I ever find babies from adults with those especially green heads, I think I'll pull the trigger. Nice job.

Neal

10 Year Member!
Arizona
I've got limited experience, but I love this subspecies Neal. What are their personalities like?

Are you getting babies from them?

Their personalities are similar to other NA box turtles, but the aggression is on a completely different scale. The males are just down right mean to each other and the females. Even I've been bitten a couple of times. Otherwise, they're very animated with quick jerky movements and it can be a lot of fun just to sit and watch them.

No babies. These are from multi-generational captive adults, and from what I understand, the original owner started with just a single pair over 20 years ago. These are likely inbred from inbred and might be sterile. They mate a lot though and are all beefy and outwardly healthy, so after two years with them I am thinking they're sterile.

mark1

5 Year Member
ohio
very cool turtles .... I wouldn't give up on breeding them , having bred dogs for most of my life , from what I've seen , sterility from inbreeding is a long way down the road , lots of bad genetic things happen from inbreeding before sterility , I've actually never seen a sterile dog I would attribute solely to inbreeding .... anythings possible but I doubt those turtles could be inbred enough to cause them to be sterile .....

Neal

10 Year Member!
Arizona