First time tortoise owner

allie_tort

Location (City and/or State)
California
Hi everyone. Newbie here. I grew up with my great grandmother owning 2 tortoises and my grandfather also having one. I find them absolutely adorable and fascinating creatures. However, I really don't know much about them. I found myself in a pet store in México and saw a pair of tortoises, I just knew I had to have them. I want to provide the best home for them, but I don't even know their species. I've attached a picture. I'm hoping someone will be kind enough to give some feedback. I've definitely given them more room to roam. That enclosure was from the pet store. Thank you.

20201210_151637.jpg

Chubbs the tegu

Ma
Welcome to the forum! First off they will not do well in pairs they are solitary animals so u will need separate enclosures. Here is a great care sheet written by Tom, read thru and come back with any questions. Good luck! Very cute sulcatas btw

KarenSoCal

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Low desert 50 mi SE of Palm Springs CA
Hi, and welcome to the forum!

You remind me of my younger years, when I went and bought a 400cc motorcycle, even though I had never once in my life been on one, even as a passenger! I figured it couldn't be that hard to learn to ride, right? ?

Well, you've bought 2 adorable sulcata babies with no idea what's ahead of you. Please don't take this post like I'm trying to discourage you, but you need to know what you're in for.

First, Chubbs is right...you will need 2 of everything, including closed chamber enclosures. They will have to be separated ASAP.

The males of this species grow to weigh 120-150 lbs on average, and females go to 80-100lbs. You won't know what you have for several years.

They need a large outdoor space to live in when they're big enough, 2000sqft or more...for each of them.

Each will need a heated night box for nighttime or for cold rainy days. Even though you live in CA, you still need the night boxes.