Has yet tortoise ever bit you?

Status
Not open for further replies.

fifthdawn

5 Year Member
If they have, did they let go, whats your story?
They really don't look like they bite...

Well my tortoise never bit me but just now, my one of my turtle did. For the first time in 5 years, my little (or big, 7 inches) turtle locked on to a pinch of flesh on my palm and wouldn't let go. I have no experience with this and have only read about it in the past. I heard run cold water on its head from the sink. That didn't work. I tried putting food infront of her, put her in water, pet her head, rub her neck, squeeze her jaws from the size. Nothing worked.

Its still biting on to me right now as I type. lol No I'm jk, she let go already. Honestly, I totally forgot how she let go. I was just so relief that she did lol.

It was my first time getting bit and I own lots of turtles, otherwise I woulda taken a picture. lol I'll definately grab my camera next time I get bit...

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
I've had lots of aquatic turtles ATTEMPT to bite me, but never a tortoise. Often its a mistake on the tortoises part when some one tries to hand feed to small of a piece of food.

Having said all of that, Maggie will tell you some great Bob stories!!!

fifthdawn

5 Year Member
lol She always try to bite me when I take her out for feeding. I'm usually quick enough. Guess I got over confident this time and she beated me lol

DoctorCosmonaut

10 Year Member!
Oregon
Whenever I have held something in my hand for my RFs to eat, they probably would bite me if I was in the way, but mostly because they can't differentiate me from the food and they aren't that coordinated in a sense.

Nay

10 Year Member!
Belchertown Ma