Hibernation Hatchling.

Koen

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Belgium
Hi Guys,

Got 4 hermanni hermanni' from Puglia including 2 hatchlings and I am hesitating how long I should hibernate them.

I used to have boetgerri's and the hatchling I would hibernate for 8 weeks so I assume the same applies for Westerns?

Does anybody have experience with longer hibernations with hatchlings, full length 4-5 months? Don't even know if they would survive but then again I would assume in the wild hatchlings would sleep as long as the adults?

Thanks.

Koen

5 Year Member
Belgium
Nobody any experience with hibernating 2-3 month old hatchlings?

Thx!

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
I have no experience hibernating hermanni hatchlings, but I don't agree with the usual advice to not hibernate hatchlings in general. I've hibernated russian and DT hatchlings as well as Tegus and never had any problems at all. I usually go 8-10 weeks with hatchlings and 12-14 weeks with adults.

Babies are no different than adults when it comes to this subject, but I think babies have a smaller margin of error. If the person doesn't make an error, babies hibernate just as well as adults, and I think its good for them to do so.

Koen

5 Year Member
Belgium
Hi Tom,

Thanks for your asking. I will hibernate my hatchlings no doubt about it but I used to hibernate my eastern babies 8 weeks and was just wondering whether 2-3 month babies would be able to handle full hibernation of 4-5months if they are healthy. Keen to try it although being quite scared to lose the babies :)

GBtortoises

10 Year Member!
The Catskill Mountains of New York State