I am still a little new to raising my tortoises

Evan Gardella

Location (City and/or State)
Boyd, Tx
So i have 2 tortoises names eric and freeman
I dont know there genders i need a little help with that. Eric and Freeman are about the same age Bout a year and a half i would like to have some tips on how i can interact more with them and how to teach them there names
So while i had eric i neglected him for a while and he got mbd ( matalic bone disease) so his shell is messed up and i think its startin to pyramid how do i stop that?
Here are some photos of there tank and them

Just akin for some ideas and help
Thanks
Evan Gardella

Email me if u want at [email protected]

P.S. I am building an outside pen right now but they have an outside pen that we used for chickens. (Eric is the big one and freeman is smaller)

Attachments

• BF788ABE-F76F-42A9-94B4-984FA7D61465.jpeg
    BF788ABE-F76F-42A9-94B4-984FA7D61465.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 58
  • 6EF16D89-BBF2-4EC5-8DCF-6F4B3E773A41.jpeg
    6EF16D89-BBF2-4EC5-8DCF-6F4B3E773A41.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 49
  • 09DF1024-ED2D-466D-83E5-0D90FA24E83E.jpeg
    09DF1024-ED2D-466D-83E5-0D90FA24E83E.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 48

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Your tortoise need to live alone in their own enclosure, they should not live as a pair. Also the tank is too small for one of them, let alone two of them.
They don't really want interaction, like a dog would. They aren't really that kind of pet. They want fresh water, food and a proper sized place to live and to be kept warm and have the proper lighting, heating, humidity and food to stay healthy. They won't learn their name, again not dogs, but will learn that you are the food person and will soon come to you when they see you thinking you have food for them.
Read the threads Tom linked for you and get them in proper sized enclosures so they have room to grow and exercise properly before more problems develope.

Bass.Isles