Leopard or Red Footed Tortoise

Hello, i am new in this, and i know both leopard and red footed grow about the same size wich is why they are my two options but i dont know wich one is better as a pet, can anyone tell me??(i live in a cold/hot and dry weather)

russian/sulcata/tortoise

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Northern California, bay area
welcome to the forums! leopards get way bigger than red foots, a big red foot wound be 12 inches long and some leopards get 100+ pounds. where are you located? how big of a winter and summer enclosure will you be able to provide for them?

leigti

5 Year Member
southeast Washington
Read foots require more humidity as adults than leopards do. As babies they both require a good deal of humidity. For outdoors you can give your ride foots more humidity by providing lots of plants and keeping them watered and sprayed. Your leopards will be more tolerant of dry weather. No tortoise tolerates cold and wet. What state are you in? Check out the care she needs for both of them and also check out the species specific sections for ideas on enclosures and care.

naturalman91

5 Year Member
Medford Oregon
welcome to the forums! leopards get way bigger than red foots, a big red foot wound be 12 inches long and some leopards get 100+ pounds. where are you located? how big of a winter and summer enclosure will you be able to provide for them?

i actually saw a post where someone had a 16-17" redfoot 12 is like average tho

naturalman91

5 Year Member
Medford Oregon
The record, I think, is 29" for an RF but 16" is a beast. 12 - 14" is a much more reasonable expectation for an old and well cared for RF.

29"? are flippin kidding me ? wow thats HUGE for a red do you know was it male or female?

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.