AllieKat1997

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Missouri
Hello!
I’m new to the tortoise world (and the forum) and I was researching what tortoise species would be the best fit for me. I was looking at the Greek tortoises, mainly the Ibera, because I read that they were “hardy and extremely cold tolerant”. I want a tortoise that won’t break if I accidentally make mistakes. I’m doing research to minimize mistakes, but they do happen no matter how prepared you are. Is a Greek Ibera a good fit for a beginner? What about the Golden Greek? I read Golden Greeks “can handle cooler temps”. Are Golden’s hardy too?

Thanks so so much!! :D

TechnoCheese

5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Lewisville, Texas
Welcome to the forum!

Most tortoises are extremely durable as it is. I would say really any testudo might be a good choice, like Greeks, Russians, hermanns, etc.

They all require a 95-100 degree basking spots with temps no lower than 60 cool side and night, and if living outdoors, a heated nightbox/small shed to go into at night or during cold weather.

Here’s a Care Sheet that works for most testudos-
Russian Tortoise Care Sheet https://tortoiseforum.org/index.php?threads/Russian-Tortoise-Care-Sheet.80698/

Beginner Mistakes https://tortoiseforum.org/index.php?threads/Beginner-Mistakes.45180/

AllieKat1997

5 Year Member
Missouri
Welcome to the forum!

Most tortoises are extremely durable as it is. I would say really any testudo might be a good choice, like Greeks, Russians, hermanns, etc.

They all require a 95-100 degree basking spots with temps no lower than 60 cool side and night, and if living outdoors, a heated nightbox/small shed to go into at night or during cold weather.

Here’s a Care Sheet that works for most testudos-
Russian Tortoise Care Sheet https://tortoiseforum.org/index.php?threads/Russian-Tortoise-Care-Sheet.80698/

Beginner Mistakes https://tortoiseforum.org/index.php?threads/Beginner-Mistakes.45180/

Thank you so much!