my tortoises only eats his pellets

Andrew.H

Location (City and/or State)
Ontario
my two month red footed tortoises only seems to eat his diet pellets that i was given upon purchasing it and he only really eats that, i think he really enjoys it but he won’t eat vegetables and other stuff that often. is this okay?

Theia

York
my two month red footed tortoises only seems to eat his diet pellets that i was given upon purchasing it and he only really eats that, i think he really enjoys it but he won’t eat vegetables and other stuff that often. is this okay?
I’m very new to this so can only tell you that it was the same for me. I think his first owner fed him pellets and iceberg. I decided to introduce very small amounts or various foods in with his kale which he likes . Bit by bit he is accepting these new food stuffs but I think they are canny and stubborn sometimes ; he deliberately refuses to eat as a form of independence He eats when he says ,!

Maggie3fan

5 Year Member
PacificNorthWest
It's not ok in my opinion. A varied diet is what's best. I would stop with the pellets and simply feed whatever greens he should get and I think redfoots eat fruit as well. And remember one important thing...he can only eat what you offer, stop with the pellets and offer a better diet. But, I am n ot an experienced redfoot person, that would be @ZEROPILOT

Andrew.H

Ontario
I’m very new to this so can only tell you that it was the same for me. I think his first owner fed him pellets and iceberg. I decided to introduce very small amounts or various foods in with his kale which he likes . Bit by bit he is accepting these new food stuffs but I think they are canny and stubborn sometimes ; he deliberately refuses to eat as a form of independence He eats when he says ,!
thank you

Toddrickfl1

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Ga