Nails

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jabuticaba

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Winnipeg, MB
Hi, all! Just wondering if anyone trims their tortoise's nails? How long are nails on a THB supposed to be?

I had to trim my torts' nails, as soon as I got them last week. Poor thinks couldn't walk properly. But I'm thinking I need to trim them a bit more, as I feel they're still too long. Please advise. (Oh, and I used to be a dog, cat, and bird groomer by trade, so I'm pretty adept with the clippers. I know how to avoid the quick!) tks a bunch!

ImageUploadedByTortForum1374711616.623216.jpg

May[CHERRY BLOSSOM] & Hermann's [TURTLE][TURTLE] (Darwin & Wallace)
Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Last edited by a moderator:

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
If you feed on a flat rock or piece of tile and also put some in the enclosure to walk on, it will help to keep nails and beak trimmed.

Jabuticaba

5 Year Member
Winnipeg, MB
wellington said:
If you feed on a flat rock or piece of tile and also put some in the enclosure to walk on, it will help to keep nails and beak trimmed.

Tks! I got some rocks for them to climb on. They have to climb to get to their basking spot and down to their food. I'll definitely look into getting a piece of slate for their larger enclosure.

Winnipeg, MB, Canada

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California
Rough pieces of slate tiles are a great way to do this as well, perhaps placing them within the torts desired walking pathway--this way he will walk across the slate tiles and trim the nails down---you can get the slate flooring tiles from home depot for like a buck or so a piece for a 12x12 inch piece...

Jlant85

5 Year Member
California