New and clueless

Davidson

Hi everybody, my name is Davidson and I live in Newfoundland Canada. A close friend of mine recently moved away and gave me his red footed tortoise. My wife and I have 2 young boys, 5 & 7 years old, who absolutely love him, but I have little experience with reptiles. I have read so many things online but a lot of it is conflicting, so I thought I had better join somewhere I can have my questions directly answered by those with personal experience before I do something wrong.

Our tortoise is named Raphael, and we have no idea how old he is. When I picked him up originally he was in a 25g tank with one hide and a humongous light. I dug out my old 55g aquarium and set it up for him after a couple days of having him home as I thought he needed more room.

He comes out 5x a week for a 30 minute soak(or until he poops) and is generally very social. Up until 2 days ago he used to eat everything I put in front of him without a problem. Now he seems to be very picky and will pick out the Apple, tomato or shrimp and leave whatever leafy veg I put in.

He has also spent the last 24 hours burrowed into the moss on the warm side of the tank.

His hot side is steady at 87.5 Fahrenheit with 25% humidity and his cool side is at 77.5 Fahrenheit with 90% humidity.

not sure what else i need to post up so feel free to remind me! and thanx a lot in advance for any assistance :)

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
I don't keep RFs, so I'm no help there, but hello and welcome.

DutchieAmanda

5 Year Member
Netherlands
Hi Davidson and welcome to the forum!
Can you post some pictures of your tort and housing? Than we can give better advice.
Humidity should be above 80% everywhere. I just pour some water in the substrate.
Do you soak him/her in warm water?
I'm using a metric system so don't really have an idea how big 55g is, but they need quit some space to walk around.