New hawk in town!

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
The last couple of weeks I've seen a large hawk circling our block and landing in a tree in my back yard. He appears to be feeding on doves drawn in by my wife's bird feeder. The bird feeder STAYS. My concern is that the hawk may turn is attention towards my torts not far away in open topped pens. Can anyone recommend some kind of netting or hawk proofing?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
I'm not a hawk expert, but I'm thinking that a hawk that eats birds, eats birds.

G-stars

5 Year Member
Southern California
Hawks are predators and will eat what's available and easy to catch. Birds, rodents, etc... Small tortoises can be on that list. Better to be safe than sorry. It also depends how big your tortoises are and how big that hawk is.

sunshyne621

5 Year Member
As someone who has done raptor rehab before, a bird that eats birds is usually part of the accipiter or falcon family. And as long as you keep the feeder he's sticking around, unless he is migrating through. I highly doubt it would go after tortoises too.

Jodie

5 Year Member
Spokane Valley WA
This would make me very nervous too. My husband built a lightweight frame that we stretched chicken wire type fence over for my little ones enclosure. It is on a pulley to lift one end up for access. I suppose it depends on how big your enclosure is what your options might be.

Odin's Gma

5 Year Member
USDA Zone 4a+