Status
Not open for further replies.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Its official. I am now a Sulcata BREEDER. Got my first pip just a few hours ago. This is my very first hatchling ever. I raised the father, Scooter, from a newborn hatchling in July of '98. I got the mother, Deloris, from a friend when she was 2 or 3, eight years ago. I've been waiting 12 years for this. The eggs were laid on Jan. 30th and I posted pics on that night. So, I'm at day 105 right now. Enough typing, here's a pic:
2e6eoa8.jpg

This egg looks like it has started to try to hatch, but the baby hasn't breeched the leathery inside yet. I noticed the shell cracking 2 days ago, but still no penetration into the outside world yet. Should I just leave it alone? I've been keeping turtles and tortoises for 30 years. I've raised dozens of hatchlings of all sorts of species, but I've never hatched my own. Until now.
283slw.jpg

egyptiandan

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
USA
Looking good Tom :)

Yes you can help the second egg by making a small "window" in the white membrane (right where the dimple is).

Danny

BethyB1022

5 Year Member
Aww! Congrats Tom, looking forward to seeing pics of your hatchlings!

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
egyptiandan said:
Looking good Tom :)

Yes you can help the second egg by making a small "window" in the white membrane (right where the dimple is).

Danny

Thanks Danny. I will.

DeanS

SULCATA OASIS
10 Year Member!
SoCal
Congratulations Pops! Keep us posted with their progress and LOTS of photos!

TortieGal

5 Year Member
Oregon
Aww, so cute! Congrats, I know you must be very excited. Can't wait to see more. :)

TortieLuver

5 Year Member
Arizona