Rescued Sulcata! General health concerns?

HarleysJoker

Hey all, I've recently picked up a sulcata from a friend of mine. He's had him since hatchling, and just turned 3 march 14th. He said he couldn't do it anymore, and offered him to me, since I've been saying I'd love to have one. I've been researching sullys for a couple years now, just some little (maybe) things concern me. He's been in my care for about a month. He grazes every day in my fenced and untreated backyard, and I give him Matzuri a few times a week, as well as reptivite and calcium. His stools are consistent, and his urates are clear and free of any white solids or mush to indicate any dehydration, eats and drinks absolutely fine, just his general color and especially this pit he has on his head concern me. Here's a couple pictures of my pretty boy Oscar the Curious!

Also including a picture of his enclosure. He's got a 6 by 3 1/2 foot box, with a little less than half being covered for a hide, its dark, and his lamps sit right above him. His box came with pine bark, but I just replaced that with cypress mulch from recommendation.

Again the pitting on his head and general color (pyramiding concern???) Are my main things. Thanks all!

1463248492277.jpg 1463248681881.jpg 1463248692315.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
CA
my eyes are not good enough to see the pics sorry. But his color looks good is there any specific concerns you have?

HarleysJoker

Mainly the pit above his right eye, it has been there since I have had him. I don't see any growth on it from the beginning, but it hasn't gone away either. I'm just making sure he's all okay and I'm not doing anything wrong. If I am, I need to correct it.

Jodie

5 Year Member
Spokane Valley WA
Looks like an old wound to me. I would just keep an eye on it. He looks pretty good.

Kasia

Poland