Size of Habitat? Tank vs Rubber Tub?

AllieKat1997

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Missouri
Hello! I’m brand new to the tortoise world and am plotting out my first ever tortoise :D. I’m actually between Hermann’s (Eastern and Dalmatian), Greek (Golden, Ibera, and Mideastern), and of course the Russian. I’ll be getting a hatchling. I’m under the impression that these species are all very similar (though there are obviously differences!) so I decided to make one post asking a few questions.
Sorry for asking so many questions!

1. Size?
- I’m so confused about size of enclosure. I know bigger is better for all tortoises, but I’m not handy (though my uncle is). So I was thinking a rubber tub, tank, or anything premade would be SO much easier for me. The cementing tubs I was looking at have dimensions on them. One cementing tub is $36 and says it’s 36 X 24 X 8. Is this a good size or....?

2. Tank or Tub or?
- I read that tanks are good for hatchlings because it’s easier to keep up humidity. Is this true or is a tub better because tubs have more space...?

3. Humidity
- How much humidity does any of these species need? I keep reading that they are all dry-loving species (more than other tortoises I mean) and therefore don’t need (or want) super high humidity. So is lightly spraying their enclosure once a day good enough or should it be more? And I’m assuming that they still require a moist hide..? Or should I offer a moist hide and a dry hide and let him decide..?

Sorry for all the questions. Like I said I’m brand new to the tortoise world and I want to make sure I know all my facts before I get my new baby. :tort: I know I said I’m still torn on which species I’m getting in the first place... I just love them all! :<3:

Thanks so much!!

AllieKat1997

5 Year Member
Missouri
OH! I had also found a bookshelf that’s 41.6 long and 23.6 wide. Would this be better?? To convert a bookshelf into an enclosure?
Thanks!!

TriciaStringer

5 Year Member
Louisiana