SOFT PLASTRON SOS

tortoisemonger889

I purchased a baby golden Greek tortoise from Arizona Tortoise compound in August. He is around the size of a golf ball. Yesterday I had him out and pushed on his plastron and it has considerable give! He has a UVB light and I dust his greens daily. In the second picture you can see the raised and sunken in areas. If you can offer any recommendations that would be great!!!ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1453840069.948038.jpgImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1453840149.998368.jpg

Grapes

Hatchlings shells aren't hard immediately after hatching. As long as you are providing the proper UVB (or preferably natural sunlight) and supplementing with calcium you should be ok just be patient. I have no experience on this particular species but I'm sure someone will be along who's familiar.

deadheadvet

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Cary, NC
That animal looks very dehydrated and in poor condition. Maybe you could comment about it's diet, habitat ,set up, etc.

tortoisemonger889

That animal looks very dehydrated and in poor condition. Maybe you could comment about it's diet, habitat ,set up, etc.

He has a water dish filled 24/7, I must his enclosure every two days, and he is fed usually baby kale with the occasional Brussels sprout or flower. He is in a 40 gallon on Cyprus mulch, and his basking temp is around 80°F. In his enclosure he has the water dish a food dish and a half log hide out on the cool side of the enclosure.

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
Hi
1st cut out the Blbrussel sprouts only greens (less kale if possible) and flowers.
2ng start wetting down his food when feeding.
3rd higher basking temp 80 is far to low.
Regarding the sort shell they start put soft and pliable & harden over time. You have to worry when the shell starts getting softer,.is it?

tortoisemonger889

Hi
1st cut out the Blbrussel sprouts only greens (less kale if possible) and flowers.