Substrate for a 3 Legged Turtle

Zulfikar Shahnawaz

Hello,

I am new to being a Box Turtle owner and this is my first post in the forum.

I am a Veterinary Assistant and a Box Turtle was brought in about 2 months ago with her left hind leg dangling. It was literally only held on by tendon. One of the Vets amputated her leg and we gave her Baytril injections every 72 hours for 10 days. The wound healed up nicely and she is in otherwise good health. We don't really know how this injury happened and the person who dumped her here didn't say much. Anyhow, I ended up keeping her. She is now called Mahila and other than missing one leg she is in very good health.

My question is, when I first got her set up in the terrarium I had used Forest Floor and she seemed to do well. Then I was at Petco and they only had Repti Bark and I needed to change the substrate, so I ended up buying that. She did very well with it and had very little difficulty getting up onto her basking platform and in and out of her water. Yesterday I had found a large back of Forest Floor at Petco and since she did well with it the first time and it states that it is good for turtles and tortoises I bought it. I changed the substrate yesterday and immediately after putting her back into her terrarium she was having difficulty getting around the way she had been. She has trouble getting on to her basking platform and because it is so messy compared to the Repti Bark her soaking dish gets filthy immediately. I have changed it multiple times today.

Is it possible that this difficulty is because of her only having three legs and having been used to the relatively stable feel of the Repti Bark? And if so, has anyone else had similar issues between these two products?

Thank you!
Zulfikar

cmacusa3

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Bixby