Substrate question

shellbabymom

5 Year Member
I have had Atlas, a greek tortoise, since march of this year. I am still learning new info everytime I'm on the forum. But there is one topic that I haven't found much on. He is in a tortoise table with no top and his subtrate right now is 50% garden soil and 50% peat moss. The problem is that it gets so dusty. There is dust everywhere it seems like. I just wanted to know what others are using as a substrate, if a mister is needed, or if its just a fact that tortoises are really that dusty. His shell is always covered in dust it seems like and I feel bad for him. My husband and I are on a budget right now so I can't afford huge amounts of expensive substrate for him. Any input would be great!

Sent from my SCH-I535 using TortForum mobile app

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
A little dampness will give some moderate humidity which is good for a Greek, but it will also keep the dust down. You might have to pour water into the substrate to get it damp enough.

Cowboy_Ken

10 Year Member!
Kingman, Arizona
I use a 50%\50% organic top soil/peat moss mix by volume. It will get dusty if not kept damp. At first mixing, I pour large amounts of water and mix a lot to get a moisture level that when squeezed, the substrate will clump without water dripping out. Then I use a humidifier on a automatic switch to maintain my desired humidity. Or, for lack of the humidifier, I would spray down the enclosure twice a day to maintain humidity. For an adult russian, I would shoot for 60-70% humidity. Your husband and you are correct though, that the dust isn't the best for the tortoise or the family.

kaz311

5 Year Member