taking on a horsefield tortoise

Raemillsy

Hello all,

I am new to owning a tortoise. We had one come to my works and I decided to take him home. I know he is boy because of his tail. However I have a couple of questions if you guys could help :)

What is the normal behaviour?
What are the signs of ill health?
Do you have to hibernate them?
The ideal weight of an adult?
Can you tell how old they are?
what plants can I plant in the accommodation?
Does he need both a uv lamp and a heater? Uv lamp seems to kick out quite a bit of heat.

Thats it at the moment. Any help would be great, I've done research but always find it best to talk to people :)

Careym13

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Northern Virginia
Hello all,

I am new to owning a tortoise. We had one come to my works and I decided to take him home. I know he is boy because of his tail. However I have a couple of questions if you guys could help :)

What is the normal behaviour?
What are the signs of ill health?
Do you have to hibernate them?
The ideal weight of an adult?
Can you tell how old they are?
what plants can I plant in the accommodation?
Does he need both a uv lamp and a heater? Uv lamp seems to kick out quite a bit of heat.

Thats it at the moment. Any help would be great, I've done research but always find it best to talk to people :)
Welcome to TFO!!:tort: Take a look at this care sheet while you are waiting for the members who own Russians to chime in (I keep Leopards). Glad to have you!
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/russian-tortoise-care-sheet.80698/
Also, pictures of your tortoise and it's enclosure will help you get advice more quickly.

axeman25

Central Michigan
Welcome. You can search past threads, pretty much every question you have asked has been answered many times. And yes, we love pics!

Russianuncletwo

5 Year Member