king_pappy

Location (City and/or State)
Michigan
Has anyone worked on training a tortoise, Curious to hear if anyone has had success here is my story of my journey training my Russian tortoise named Yoshi.

Yoshi is a 4 year rescue who loves to sleep in hoodie pockets, watch finding Nemo (he will not watch anything other then that), yoshi also love tomato’s, and a very smart personable tortoise.

I’ve been working on training him two hours a day for the past 6 months I currently use a target stick with a red foam ball on the end of it and a clicker. since I acquired him I have been teaching him that when he touches the red ball I will reward him with a treat. He now will chase after the ball and follow it until he is able to touch his nose to it. I will then click the clicker 2 times to show affirmation, and then reward him with a small piece of tomato.

That was his first trick i taught him.

The next one was a tad trickier I never knew when yoshi wanted to get out of his bath and would usually just wait until he started scratching the side of his bathtub. I placed a plastic red sequin about 1.5 lard and glued it to his bath I then waited until he hit with his nose and then pulled him out dryer him off and put him back under his enclosure with a treat. So know he will tell you when he’s ready to stop soaking.

I am currently working on teaching him and seems to be working flawlessly, while it takes a lot of time and patience and persistence. In the end it’s totally worth it.

Attachments

• E024B8DD-6790-4321-9721-61DF8B851659.jpeg
    E024B8DD-6790-4321-9721-61DF8B851659.jpeg
    1.4 MB · Views: 15

zolasmum

5 Year Member
Has anyone worked on training a tortoise, Curious to hear if anyone has had success here is my story of my journey training my Russian tortoise named Yoshi.