Total Newbie but enthusiastic!

Mamadee

Good morning.
I am a total newbie who is interested in rescuing an older Tortoise for an outdoor habitat yet to be built. I am 58 so I figured since tortoise live for so long I should get an older one to match my expected life span. I am a volunteer for Pug Rescue of Florida so I firmly in adopt, don't shop.

I live on a quarter acre in Jacksonville, FL. I do have a swimming pool that I have turned into an 18,000 gallon water habitat about 2 years ago. It's full of plants, a 10 foot Cyrpress Tree, lots of frogs, about 50 gold fish who started out as the 28 cents variety from a petstore but are now bigger than my hand and countless mosquito fish who keep the bugs from eating my water lilies and lotus. My pond is my happy place so between the four dogs using part of the yard and the pond I do spend a lot of time in the backyard.

There is a Tortoise Rescue in Florida who will come and do a home inspection when you put in your adoption application but their website is not really specific on what they are looking for in the way of the habitat, only that pools must be barriered to prevent drownings. So I asked the American Tortoise Rescue Facebook page about where I could go to find out how to create a good habitat for my future tortoise and was referred here. I have been peeking at a few of the outdoor habitat threads and already have tons of ideas running through my head. I would love to hear some of the lessons learned by those who have gone before me on this tortoise path.

I appreciate any mentoring that this group can provide and promise to keep you posted on my progress of rescuing a tortoise!

Grandpa Turtle 144

5 Year Member
Hello and welcome to the TFO from AZ . It's great to have another member that don't think 1955 is a tire size ! But I'm confused are you thinking of a turtle or tort ? Cause the two worse things for a tort is dogs and pools !

HLogic

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Florida, USA