Trimming the beak

hettisurmail

I desperately need to trim one of my Hermanns beaks. There isn't anywhere that will do it within one hundred miles of me so I will to do it my self. I've never done it before and have know clue how to. Non of my other tortoises have a long beak like his so I don't get why his is getting so long. He eats off slate and has pebbles and stones in his enclosure. Please can someone tell me how to trim his beak without hurting him.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Using the side part of a toe nail clipper, start at one side of the beak and clip, clip, clip tiny pieces out of the edge, going around from one side, across the middle and finish up on the other side. Just take tiny pieces at a time. When you have it all clipped, then you can take a file to it and smooth it out.

stevenf625

5 Year Member
I desperately need to trim one of my Hermanns beaks. There isn't anywhere that will do it within one hundred miles of me so I will to do it my self. I've never done it before and have know clue how to. Non of my other tortoises have a long beak like his so I don't get why his is getting so long. He eats off slate and has pebbles and stones in his enclosure. Please can someone tell me how to trim his beak without hurting him.

I feed my tort on a piece of sandstone,but I don't think he hits it with his beak enough to really trim it either.

The ideal beak maintainer for my tort would be a creme brulee dish like whats shown below - but with a rough, unglazed outer rim.

Put two mazuri pellets in one of these against the inner wall.
If your tortoise is like mine (a 5" Herman) he'll climb part way on top of the dish from the non-pellet side and start eating.