We need a Q&A thread

deepnx

Ive been to all the Sticky threads and they are very informative and ive learned a lot.

I recently purchased a Star Tortoise and have a ton of questions in my mind on its Health and Enviorment.

There are beautiful threads in this forum that explains a lot on the kind of Habitat and Enclosure it requires etc.

But i feel we do need a Sticky Q&A Thread with relevant links Answering most of the general questions.

Eg.
Q. What is Pyramiding?
A. (we could insert a link of a thread in this forum)

As a Newbie i have a lot of questions. If someone can create a thread and make it sticky please answer these questions for me.

Q1. What to look out for before buying/adopting a new Star Tortise?
(Because some local sellers dont keep these beautiful creation in a very healthy enviorment)

Q2. How often do they sleep or how active are they?
(This is the biggest concern as the one i got is always sleeping. He only moves if i keep food for him or else he is just always sitting with eyes closed)

Q3. How do i bathe or wash him?
(A pdf file in our thread told to use a brush or a earbud once a week)

Q4. How often do they poop/pee ? and How is it like ? How to clean it ?
(Been 2 days since ive got him and he hasnt pooped or peed)

Q5. Should we buy a single or in a pair? How does both option affect in the overall mood of the Tortoise?
(Planning to get a female friend for him)

Q6. Water?
(What temperature and Filtered or Tapped)

Q7. Names of the stuff you put in a enclosure ?
(This is very imp cause i see many enclosures with lots of stuff but not on whats it "Called" like example whats the shapeless clay plate called where you put water or What kind of soil is required as the base of the enclosure)

Q8. Types of Enclosures? Top coverd? Glass/ Plastic / Acrylic?
(Links to the best enclosure threads)

And many more questions that could be requested by the users in the thread that can go up to the main thread section.