Will these substrates work? (Pics included)

visuvius

Location (City and/or State)
CA
I'm building my red foot a larger indoor enclosure and I'd like to see if the following substrates will work. I was going to use some of this orchid bark that I found it Ace hardware:

PXL_20230708_195937400.jpg
Bag says Orchid Bark but ingredients says Fir Bark.

PXL_20230708_195942250.jpg

Then more importantly, I want to see if this soil is okay? I was going to use a mix of the following two:

PXL_20230708_195927736.jpg

PXL_20230708_195913172.jpg

I don't see fertilizers or perlite included as any of the ingredients. Please let me know if these two will work.

Attachments

• PXL_20230708_195937400.jpg
    PXL_20230708_195937400.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 1

Ink

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Virginia
What species of tortoise/turtle do you have?

Ink

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Virginia
I'm not an expert so @ZEROPILOT should be able to help you. I wouldn't use it with my tortoises.

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
Not if It contains Perlite, moss, vermaculite or any other items
You want 100% pure Orchid bark.
I buy mine at the HOME DEPOT.
That product is not safe to use in my opinion

Attachments

• Screenshot_20230626_153209_Samsung Internet.jpg
    Screenshot_20230626_153209_Samsung Internet.jpg
    155.5 KB · Views: 4

visuvius

CA
Yes the bag just says orchid bark. There's not perlite in either the orchid bark or the potting soil. I posted pictures of the ingredients.

The bag zeropilot posted is similar to the one I posted from Ace hardware. Both ingredients say fir bark.

For redfoots are you guys using just the bark? I was thinking there would be a layer of the soil then the bark on top.

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club