Winter time soaking

Dizisdalife

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
California
A touch of winter has hit Southern California (it won't even get to 60F here today!) and I am wondering how to soak my sulcata. Last winter it was easy. I could bring him inside and put him in the plastic box filled with warm water. Now he is too big for that. Since early summer he has been getting his soaks outside in a kiddie pool. No place in the house for that. Can I fill the kiddie pool with hot water and soak him outside as I have been doing for the past two months? Is this okay when the air temperature is 55F?

Blakem

10 Year Member!
California
I cover the bowl with something to keep the heat in. Since heat rises, it stays in and keeps the water warmer longer. I don't have a big boy yet, but it's a suggestion. I have no idea what others do.

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California
Does he live outside with his own house? The reason I ask is because he seems large enough that soaking may not necessary? I mean do you ever see his drink from his water source? I am by no means telling you to not soak (I do the adult CDTs a few times during summer just because they like it) because soaking is beneficial regardless of age of the tort...but if he is drinking on his own, then perhaps during winter months you may be able to work without the soaks????

However, if you are wanting to do the soaks then as long as it is warm (not hot or cold)...filling the pool with warm water and plopping him in for the option should be fine....and he will let you know if he appreciates the offerings or not....:D

Dizisdalife

10 Year Member!
California
Saleama said:
Chuck is one beautiful sully!

Thanks.

ascott said: