Advice. (off his food)

Montyc

Location (City and/or State)
Port talbot
Hi
I am new to the group and am looking for a bit of advice please.
our horse field tortoise has been of his food lately and is finding it hard to open one of his eyes when I bathe it with waiter it opens... it is as if there is a film of skin over it. He also isn't walking much and just sleeping. And when I'm checked on him earlier its as if he trying to breathe through his mouth.
Does anyone know what could be wrong with him or if he needs vets.

Thank you

MarginatedMooney

Raleigh-Durham, North Carolina USA
Hi, welcome to the forum!
That doesn't sound good. I'm not an expert, but it sounds like it could be a respiratory infection to me.

The experts will need more information to give you good advice. What are the temps like in your enclosure (basking, cool side, overnight)? What is the humidity? What kind of enclosure do you have and what kind of bulbs are you using for temperature and UVB? Pictures also help.

This is the most up to date care sheet for your tortoise:

Reactions: Ink

Montyc

Port talbot
That doesn't sound good. I'm not an expert, but it sounds like it could be a respiratory infection to me.

The experts will need more information to give you good advice. What are the temps like in your enclosure (basking, cool side, overnight)? What is the humidity? What kind of enclosure do you have and what kind of bulbs are you using for temperature and UVB? Pictures also help.

Hi
I am new to the group and am looking for a bit of advice please.
our horse field tortoise has been of his food lately and is finding it hard to open one of his eyes when I bathe it with waiter it opens... it is as if there is a film of skin over it. He also isn't walking much and just sleeping. And when I'm checked on him earlier its as if he trying to breathe through his mouth.
Does anyone know what could be wrong with him or if he needs vets.

Thank you

Hi