I'm considering using Faunaclassifieds as a possible potential source for purchase of Pyxidea mouhotii. I've seen them mentioned here. I assume they are More or less OK?
Should be ok. Their is a pair for sale on kingsnake.com right now. They are quite rare to find, so if you do find some do lots and lots of research on them to set them up good. Good luck they seem like they would be awesome to keep.
Are you asking if FaunaClassifieds is reputable or if the ads are reputable? FaunaClassifieds was around in paper form waybefore the internet. They mailed you flyers in the mail each month. But the classified ads on the site, like any, are posted by individuals. FaunaClassifieds managment does as good a job as possible in ensuring that spam & phishing ads are not placed on the site. They require personal information such as names and contact information before being allowed to post. Even so, not everyone is completely honest. FaunaClassifieds has a section for complaints and outing unscrupulous dealers too.
Thanks, Tortadise.
Thanks, gbtortoises. Yeah, what I meant is the SITE ok. I know that NO ONE can guarantee the honesty or reliability of the person PLACING the ad. "Caveat emptor," and all that.
As far as online sales go (not counting local sales through word-of-mouth and CL or whatever), I've had better success selling though Fauna than any other classifieds site. In fact, its the only site I have had success selling on, probably because it is most popular 2nd only to Kingsnake (which you have to pay to advertise), and because I usually sold obscure species, and not very much mainstream animals (no ball pythons, geckos, corn snakes, etc.).
Now the general forums and the rest of the site? Thats a different story.