Feeding them opuntia cactus...

Status
Not open for further replies.

chandlerledray

5 Year Member
I purchased a opuntia cactus (a small one in a little pot) at home depot yesterday, and there is spikes on it...I took a piece of it off, and used pliars to take out the torns, is that it? I don't want anything to spike them, or is it safe ?

franeich

5 Year Member
Home depot sprays poison on it and your tort will be eating the poison. Put it in new soil and wait a few months.

franeich

5 Year Member
Im no expert but I read that you should remova all the old soil and plant it in new.

jackrat

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Hamburg,AR
Ditto on waiting a while before feeding.When I feed cactus,pads or fruit,I just hold it over the flame on a gas stove and burn them off.Then I hold them under cool running water and go over them with a clean scrub pad.Only takes a few seconds.

tortoisenerd

5 Year Member
Washington
Just replacing the soil won't get rid of the chemicals as they are systemic. It takes about 3-6 months. I buy the pads at the grocery store and although they are not organic I feel safe with it as he eats a very small amount and they are meant for human consumption (also the ones I get tend to look "ugly" which means less chemicals). The ones at garden centers are very heavily sprayed for sure since they are not meant to be eaten.

Madortoise

5 Year Member
I pluck the needles with eyebrow plucker and wear gloves so they won't get to me.

ika

5 Year Member
I purchased mine from Mexican grocery store. human eat it too.

elegans

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member