Getting my first red foot

MaddieLynn

10 Year Member!
Hey all!

I joined this forum ages ago as a high school student who desperately wanted a red foot tortoise. Fast forward to now, I graduated college a year ago and am now finally in a place where I can consider making this dream a reality!

Several years ago I had done SO much research on red foot care, but now I’m a bit rusty and have a few questions.

I currently have a 55 gallon aquarium (48x12) that I’m wanting to use as a starter for a baby red foot. How long would this size enclosure work? What equipment will I need to buy in order to make this suitable? It’s currently set up for fish so I have the aquarium, lid, and stand but no other reptile equipment.

Thanks in advance for any feedback! I’m so thrilled to be in a place where I can finally seriously consider this.

spoilers

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Southwest Ohio
well, I've never had a baby tort so I can't exactly help with exact temps or enclosure size, but I have a fully grown red foot so I can help a little bit.

Eventually, you need to get a very large enclosure (minimum 8 ft x 4 ft) my 25 yr old red foot's shell is 15 inched long and he weighs 15 pounds so they get to be pretty big once fully grown (which you probably know if you've done a lot of research). I've heard torts can't see glass and may hit the tank often. if they can see outside of their enclosure they will find ways to try and escape. Avoid using cedar if possible if you decide to build a larger enclosure when needed later on. ( I built mine, it was cheaper for me that way! I do try to make mine "better" when I have the extra cash though lol)

They don't NEED a basking spot but it's a debated topic. however, you DO need a UVB light. Do NOT buy a coil bulb for UVB lighting, they run cheaper than the really long UVB lights but have been known to damage their eyes.