Growing grass

carolinaboy165

5 Year Member
Been forever since I've been on here.
Anyway, I've been wanting to fix my lawn up a bit. Right now, it's mostly weeds, a little bit of grass, unlevel. When I put Penelope and Tuukka in their pins, I gotta put bricks around them just to cover the holes up. Pretty annoying and the lawn is a bit of an eye sore at the moment. Bout time I did something with it. I have zero experience with growing grass. I want to get rid of all the weeds and grow new grass. What should be the first step I do? And what type of grass would be best? And also how long would it take for it to start growing? Might be a long shot but I'd like to be able to put the torts outside when the weather starts getting warmer. Not sure if it would grow in time for that.

ascott

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Apple Valley, California
Well, if you have determined that the weeds you want to get rid of are not good tortoise food then you will want to section your yard (transection if you will, so you do not take on too much at one time) into manageable spaces....you will need to know what is there, so you can place a sprinkler on the selected area and wait a couple days, then pull out by the roots what grows (since you will have already determined yes leave tortoise food weeds or no, no food here....then move onto the next section....while keeping an eye on the areas you already spot checked/handled...

Then you will want to till the soil, level it out, plant/spread seed, then lightly cover it (keep an eye out for overhead eyes watching you spread the seeds, birds are fantastic at finding this out and will eat your seeds once you turn your back...lol...) with soil and immediately water it well, not flooding, but well....and keep it watered/moist for the first 2 weeks...then adjust accordingly.

carolinaboy165

5 Year Member