Help please!!! (won't eat calcium)

Tort93

Location (City and/or State)
South Wales, UK
im still fairly new to this and I need help with a few things.... I've had Tort for a few months and she's always had a bit of a 'bendy' plastron and I'm trying my best to up her calcium but she just won't eat food when I put calcium powder on it! Her behaviour has changed lately too, she's very lathargic, won't come out of her bed unless I take her out, and just generally moves and eats less, and Im worried this could be caused by lack of calcium.... Can anyone suggest any foods that are high in calcium for me to feed her (I live in the UK) ? She normally has dandelion leaves or rocket, which she sometimes eat but sometimes leaves alone, and never eats if there is calcium powder on.... Any help greatly appreciated!!! ☺️☺️

(mod note - 1 year old Russian tortoise)

Last edited by a moderator:

Careym13

5 Year Member
Northern Virginia
Do you provide cuttlebone? Endive and Escarole lettuce both have decent calcium/phosphorous ratios so you could add those into the diet. What kind of access does your tort get to UV light and to real sunshine?

kirsty Johnston

5 Year Member
Scotland
im still fairly new to this and I need help with a few things.... I've had Tort for a few months and she's always had a bit of a 'bendy' plastron and I'm trying my best to up her calcium but she just won't eat food when I put calcium powder on it! Her behaviour has changed lately too, she's very lathargic, won't come out of her bed unless I take her out, and just generally moves and eats less, and Im worried this could be caused by lack of calcium.... Can anyone suggest any foods that are high in calcium for me to feed her (I live in the UK) ? She normally has dandelion leaves or rocket, which she sometimes eat but sometimes leaves alone, and never eats if there is calcium powder on.... Any help greatly appreciated!!! ☺️☺️