Status
Not open for further replies.

jpeck425

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Michigan
Hi all,

I was on the west side of Michigan and noticed someone had a large Hibiscus growing directly in their yard. I didn't think they survived our winters, but this tree was definitely established. I would love to plant one, if they will live. I have been keeping smaller ones on the deck over the summer and feeding the flowers to the tortoises and the Iguana.

Does anyone know the requirements for these? I only recently learned that there are cactii that survive Michigan winters too. I'm going to attempt growing some of those and see what happens.

I am not good with plants, if they need to overwinter indoors :rolleyes:

Be well

Kristina

10 Year Member!
Cadillac, Michigan
This should help http://www.trop-hibiscus.com/gindr.html

There are two kinds of Hibiscus, tropical and hardy. The site will show you how to identify which is which, since stores lump them all together.

http://www.bachmans.com/tipsheets/Perennials/HardyHibiscus.cfm

Kristina

Here is some cactus info too...

The two species of Optunia native to michigan are Opuntia compressa and Opuntia fragilis.

Optunia compressa, EasternPrickly Pear

Opuntia040614.jpg

Optunia fragilis, Brittle Prickly Pear

opuntia_fragilis.jpg

We are zoned 5b-4a in the lower peninnsula, depending on where you are.

Here are some hardy ones :)

http://www.coldhardycactus.com/Pages/Opuntia.htm

Kristina

M

Maggie Cummings

It snows and freezes here also, what I have planted are a hardy species of Hibiscus called Rose of Sharon and they do quite well in colder climates. they go dormant in the winter and come back in the spring...and your tortoises will love them!!!

jpeck425

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Michigan